Project Update

23 Feb
Minmei Madelynne Pryor on the Trail of a Liar
I’m developing a follow-up  series of etchings to my 2007 narrative etching project Minmei Madelynne Pryor Went into the Dryer.
This project is called Minmei Madelynne Pryor on the Trail of a Liar. It’s a story about a mind turning in against itself.
I actually finished the story for this back in 2008, but it ended up on hiatus until 2011 while I taught with London Drawing, curated some shows and worked on a commission for the Archive of Modern Conflict.
Like many contemporary artists working with the figure, I share a preoccupation with depicting notions of body-mind duality. There are lots of academic go-to books on this subject, (Sontag, Scarry, Foster, Eco) and like any diligent nerd, I read them all. Then I drew some pictures:
cast as sprites
ditched
boob monster!
the case of the developing plot
Minmei Madelynne Pryor on the Trail of a LIar study 15
As I got closer to beginning work on the series proper I began doing these animation style drawings to improve my abilities in drawing consistently from imagination. Doing rotations of a character makes you realize how unresolved imagination is- you discover that you have no idea what your character’s head looks like from behind.
Minmei Expressions Study Page 5
Minmei rotation
many moods of minmei
Animators and comic book illustrators in my audience please don’t be too critical!  I studied painting and large-scale tonal stuff when I was an undergraduate, and MFA’s are all reading and talking, so all of these skills are new for me.
Hey look! Here I am as a junior woodchuck about ten years ago, drawing life-sized nudes in charcoal. Oh, to be young again…
With the narrative of the story established, I did some some more fully rendered drawings.
biters
minmei hair
ratatat
sketchbook frontispiece
Study for chapter 6
The final stage before beginning the twenty etchings themselves were these little character studies. After being away from etching from 2007-2011 I needed to get my etching legs back.
Looky-Lou1
A lot of the series is set in the woods, so  I experimented with flashlight effects.
Frontispiece
Frontispiece and some cast portraits.
Minmei
Monkey and Retard
study for chapter 9
Study for Chapter 6
I’ve got the first quarter of the series done now, I’ll be posting new work when I’ve got some good proofs ready.  Fifteen more to go!
