Disaster Strikes!

2 Jul

I’ve just finished plate number 9.

Image

I had an art disaster in the studio last month, when a pretty-much finished copper plate went into the acid with some dodgy acid-resistant ground on it and the whole month’s worth of work went from looking like this…

 Image

To this.

Image

There’s no way to save a plate from this kind of damage, so after some rending of  garments and gnashing of teeth I set back to work and redid the whole thing. I’ve never had to do this before, and it was an interesting experience to make a drawing from my own drawing. It’s like staring into a mirror long enough to be alienated by your own reflection.

 Image

I’d hoped that by tracing the damaged work I’d be able to save time, but with this level of finicky descriptive rendering, it was still a huge amount of work.

On the plus side, redoing the plate meant that I was able to fix the Amy Winehouse-esque beehive hairdo in the original back to Minmei’s intended hipster shaggy anime bob.

 Image

le sigh.

Also, I had some friends visiting from the UK. One had never been to Ontario before, and it was fun to share a Muskoka lake experience with an elegant Londoner. The trip’s timing was ideal, as I’ve hit a point in my narrative where the character enters a pine forest. Feeling like you’re accomplishing some work related study while wearing a bathing suit is the way to live life.

To wit:

Image

Image

 Now that it’s summer the light in my studio is really pretty in the morning.

Image

Image

Oh yeah! There’s this fun bit of news too: The poster seen in the background is from last months issue of Art Review. It shows work by my friend Lauren Godfrey. Which means that some of my favorite art writers working now like JJ Charlesworth and Matt Collings are looking at her work.

Huzzah for Lauren!

All for now, the next thousand pine needles aren’t going to draw themselves.

 Image

